261 Main St., Magnolia 44643
Status Alert: Mill is Closed During Restoration
Stark Parks received a State Capital grant for $1 million for the restoration of the Magnolia Flouring Mills. Funds will complete extensive enhancements and upgrades to the building. Plans for the project include structural rehabilitation focusing on the foundation, roof, siding, and electric work. The mill is closed during the renovation work. During construction, no tours will be given.
Open Daily: Closed
General Information: 330.477.3552
On-Duty Ranger: 330.353.2377
Rentals and Reservations: 330-409-8096
Explore how innovation, transportation, and community connections transformed the Magnolia Flouring Mills from a small town mill to a nationally recognized producer, capable of winning gold medals at two World’s Fairs!
Built in 1834 by Richard Elson along the route of the Sandy & Beaver Canal, the Magnolia Flouring Mills remained in the Elson family for 171 years before being acquired by the Stark County Park District in 2005. Added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2000, the iconic five-story red mill preserves the history of the small town, agricultural communities of rural Stark County. The 4.97-acre property in downtown Magnolia also includes a segment of the Sandy & Beaver Canal behind the mill, the water rights for the canal, and Dam #6.
The Magnolia Flouring Mills will also serve as a trailhead for the future Sandy & Beaver Canal Trail and the Pleasant Valley Trail.
The historic Magnolia Flouring Mills built in 1834.
The Stark County Park District prohibits the use of motorized vehicles in this park and on its trails. Sections of trail may not be suitable for wheelchair access. Weather may impact the accessibility of trails, always use caution.